After months of preparation by the Vocational Service team of Daryll, Christine, Phil together with co-opted members Marilyn, Judy and Murray, the day had finally arrived. Seven nominees had been interviewed and had been invited to attend an afternoon tea to celebrate their nomination. The day of the Ken Wilks Spirit of the Heart Award had finally come.

There is a buzz of excitement and expectation as the nominees enter the auditorium with their invited guests. There are also representatives from the employee groups Encompass Community Services and St Laurence Community Services.

Daryll goes to every nominee and their guests and gives them all a warm welcome.

There is a video camera in place from Rotary Media to capture all the action operated by ADG Tony Stewart.

MC Philip Quick opens the proceedings with the Rotary Club of Bayside invocation. He then introduces President Telsa who welcomes everyone to the function as well as special guests ADG Tony Stewart, PDG Chris Sims, Peter Jurisic from St Laurence Community Services and Michele Butcher, Cara White and John Crawford from Encompass Community Services. President Telsa also acknowleged the generous sponsorship by the T.A.C.

Daryll gives an outline of the Ken Wilks Spirit of the Heart Award and begins with a quote from Anna Healey the guest speaker at the Southern Region Shine On Awards 2010. “Disability is the community’s inability to understand the capability of the individual.” He then spoke about the Award and the person it was named after none other than our very own Ken Wilks.

Daryll introduced the panel and a citation was read out for each of the nominees. Each nominee was asked to come forward and receive their certificate and have their photo taken with Ken Wilks.

A delicious afternoon tea of sandwiches, cakes, fruit and cheese platter together with tea and coffee followed.

Then it was time to announce the recipient of the Ken Wilks Spirit of the Heart Award but not before some words from last years recipient Kerryn McGlinchy. Kerryn told everyone that since the award she had found extra confidence in her job and the workplace atmosphere had been changed as a result.

The winner is Michael Chan nominated by St Laurence Community Services.

Michael was so overjoyed he was lost for words but thanked everyone for this opportunity just to be recognised.

Peter Jurisic was asked to come forward and accept the Perpetual Trophy on behalf of St Laurence Community Services.

Michael was asked to draw the raffle and three overjoyed winners were found.

Daryll presented some gifts to Phil as MC and to the presenters and thanked all the panel.

President Telsa closed the proceedings with closing remarks.